top of page

Whoops.

18th June 2018

Day 29

ANON

Fine Balance.

I've spent the last few years dating on and off which goes hand in hand with moaning, bitching & laughing a lot to my friends down the phone about said dates.

Don't worry, this wasn't a one-sided affair. I've received my fair share of both depressing and hilarious stories from them. I'm sure I'll exploit a few but maybe not yet!

When drinking I always thought it made dating easier, but looking back I think my party girl side could be quite overwhelming - I'm not a crazy loud, dance on tables type (although there have been moments) but I'm definitely not a wallflower by any means. I also think looking back, my drinking self could have been quite off-putting.

An example of 'drunk Polly' - myself and one of my best friends Ben worked a drag night, they are amazingly fun, fab and fulla booze! Arriving home around 4am, we ordered McDonalds, stage 1 of grossness...

A guy I'd been chatting to on a dating app was texting me saying that he was at a house party nearby, about to leave and that he could pick me up on his way home...I said YES...I mean of course, go home with someone you've never met and who lives on a boat...that's the obvious decision, isn't it?

He picks me up in an Uber, I bring blankets as he says the electric is playing up on his boat... again, all very normal(?).

We have a drink and get into his bed...we have sex, fall asleep and the next morning he drives me home. Now, surprisingly, this is one of the only one night stands I've ever had. I'm not telling this story because I feel particularly bad about it... I managed to file that story away almost immediately (nothing like some good old denial). in fact, I totally forgot about it until my friend Ben reminded me about it recently.

HOWEVER... there is some relevance to this story, a few days ago I noticed this hot guy I was somehow following on Instagram, after stalking him a little (Hi 2018!|) I DM'd him, we started chatting, he asked me out and two days ago he drove from South London to North London (if you're a Londoner you will understand the shock in this... it's considered romantic if you venture past Dalston for a date!)

We sat in a pub, he didn't drink either (was a bit hungover) and it was maybe one of the best dates I've ever had...he was super funny, seemed really kind and sweet...and it was the first time I'd had butterflies about someone and KNOWN it wasn't down to a blanket of booze...

Now, back to the relevance of the story, having watched his Insta stories that day, I realise that one of his best friends is 'Boat Guy'... and in one fail swoop the universe doses me out another healthy helping of a message...

THIS is what happens when you engage with a guy when you're drunk at 4am and THIS is what happens when you engage with a guy nearly three months sober at 3pm in the afternoon.

instagram guy came over last night... I don't think he knows yet about 'boat guy' but I'm really hoping 'drunk Polly' hasn't ruined anything for 'Sober Polly'...we'll see...if nothing else, it's been another 'sobering' message...tbc.

Sidenote* This didn't work out, guess I do have some things to thank 'drunk Polly' for


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page